The Intergovernmental Agreement on Federal Financial Relations

The Intergovernmental Agreement on Federal Financial Relations (IGA FFR) came into effect on 1 January 2009. The IGA FFR recognises that the states and territories (states) have primary responsibility for many areas of service delivery, but that coordinated action is necessary to address Australia’s economic and social challenges.

The IGA FFR aims to improve the quality and effectiveness of government services by providing the states with increased flexibility in the way they deliver services to the Australian people, clarify the roles and responsibilities of each level of government and improve accountability for the outcomes achieved.

Intergovernmental Agreement on Federal Financial Relations National Agreements

The IGA FFR contains National Agreements that define the objectives, outcomes, outputs and performance indicators. It also clarifies the roles and responsibilities that guide the Commonwealth and the states in the delivery of services in key sectors.

There are currently three IGA FFR National Agreements in the health, skills and workforce development and disability services sectors:

National Healthcare Agreement 87KB 375KB
National Agreement for Skills and Workforce Development 421KB 175KB
National Disability Agreement 256KB 201KB

The IGA FFR contains detailed arrangements set out in schedules.

Current Schedules

Schedule title PDF DOCX
Schedule A - Institutional Arrangements 149KB 260KB
Schedule B - Taxation Reform 152KB 195KB
Schedule C - Public Accountability and Performance Reporting 135KB 156KB
Schedule D - Payment Arrangements 258KB 519KB
Schedule E - National Policy and Reform Objective 127KB 230KB
Schedule F -The Federation Funding Agreements Framework 114KB 122KB

Superseded Schedules

Please refer to the following page for superseded schedules

Conceptual framework for performance reporting

This conceptual framework [PDF 76KB] supports performance reporting under the IGA FFR.